Act 1, Scene 2: Mutual

I tidied my documents, sighing as I stood up against the afternoon light. The others let the sunscreen up to allow the warmth to alleviate the air-con chill, but it didn’t seem to work.

Interviewing people is no fun job.
It’s like playing God upon others’ lives.
And I’ve been playing God for the last three days.
Sickening, isn’t it?

Hugging the pile of forms and papers, I turned on my heels and was about to head to the door before it suddenly opened. Revealed behind it the same awkward smile I saw earlier.

Once again I nodded – this time to acknowledge his presence. In broken English, he asked me how is the session going. In simple words, I tried to explain why I decided not to hire the last youngster. He shot me with what looked like an approving look and said, ‘I agree.’

That was the first thing we agreed on.

Leave a Reply

